What to Do When You Grow Up

It’s been awhile since I last wrote, not due to writer’s block, just lack of time. I hope to get better or at least be able to blog once a week.

Have you ever heard someone say, “I’m still trying to figure out what to do when I grow up?” I hear it often from people in search of something better than what they are currently doing. It’s a fact that 70-80% of people hate their current jobs. I believe that 80% of the people that graduate from college are not working in their major.

I too have struggled with this issue. I have changed jobs in search of the best company or a situation that compliments what I am looking for. Most HR generalist will offer you the career path within that company and you have to conform to the role. They may or may not get you take a personality survey to determine your personality trait, but that is only half the battle. I believe the talent management systems have removed the human element out of finding a job. When you submit a resume online, it either goes into a black hole or you receive an auto generated email, thanking you for your interest, but “a more qualified candidate has been selected.” The truth is that you didn’t have enough key words that matched in your resume, so you never had a fighting chance to begin with, thus deflating and creating a feeling of depression among many jobseekers.

In my coaching sessions and in regular conversations with friends, many people are just lost in which direction to proceed. We all work to pay the bills and take care of our families, but we want more than that. We want the ability to enjoy life at the same time beyond a company’s public attempt of suggesting that it has a work-life policy.

As I watch the reality TV shows in the evening, I am amazed at the number of people that are living their dreams. I heard about a 17 year old who sold his app to Yahoo for $30 million. He followed his passion and was never exposed to the corporate grind.

I have a wonderful idea in theory that I am calling AG Human Capital right now and I plan on working with a couple of psychologists and some HR folks to change the game. I’m up for the task. I need people to start dreaming again and reaching their potential and following in their purpose. I’m great at helping others, if only I could help myself!

Leave a Reply

Financial Samurai

A Great Blog About Technology, Luxury, Fatherhood, and Everything in Between

jlcollinsnh

The Simple Path to Wealth

First Round Capital Review

A Great Blog About Technology, Luxury, Fatherhood, and Everything in Between

Paul Kedrosky's Infectious Greed

Finance & The Money Culture

