New Beginnings in 2014

I am long past the days of developing new goals and resolutions for the new year. A friend recently used the term “transformations” to describe her plans for 2014. I also read an article that specified the use of systems to help reach a goal. Similar to professional sports in that teams use systems to help them win. I’d like to adopt that methodology for everything that I want to accomplish in 2014. Life is really short and there is not much time for delaying my/your purpose. Steve Jobs famously said, “If today was the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” I feel like I have experienced so much over the last 10 years, but there is a season of change brewing in 2014 in my favor. With that said, I’d like to focus on these three systems that will ultimately get me to my goals.

The first is to continue to rehab my hip and train better than I did last year for a half marathon. Last year, I definitely put in the miles, but I neglected to put speed work in or stretch my muscles after a long run. I feel like that contributed to my problems with my hip, which I ultimately ended up tearing. My plan is to adopt a system once I am done with physical therapy that will help me to train my body properly for the half-marathon and ultimately a full marathon. I miss running. Running allowed me to clear my mind and just focus on my task of completing the run and developing that mental toughness.

Next, I want to do something everyday that is going to get me closer to my goal of owning my own business again! Something that I have grown from the ground up and put the blood sweat and tears into to make it successful. I want to use a system to help me reach my goal. I once heard a saying to the tune of “do something over and over until it becomes a habit.” I think I have gotten away from that over the last few years.

Lastly, I want to live. Although money is important, life goes by so fast, furthermore the days have been going by just as fast. I am thankful to the people in my circle that are helping me realize the importance of living. The system that will allow me to do this is just focusing on my family and enjoying the moment. Yes understanding that work, money and other things are important, but taking more joy in the day.

We will see how it goes…. Happy Transformation Year 2014.

Leave a Reply

Financial Samurai

A Great Blog About Technology, Luxury, Fatherhood, and Everything in Between

jlcollinsnh

The Simple Path to Wealth

First Round Capital Review

A Great Blog About Technology, Luxury, Fatherhood, and Everything in Between

Paul Kedrosky's Infectious Greed

Finance & The Money Culture

